Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Muthill Curling Club held at Beneagles Hotel on Tuesday 30th April 2002 at 7.30pm

Present and Apologies

There were 20 Members present: John and Alison Bruce, Sue and David Watt, Andrew Law, Lindsay Henderson, Joan and Joe Hewitt, Fraser Bruce, Bill Lennox, Ann Turnbull, Jill MacKay, Douglas and Rhona Johnston, John Steven, Archie McGowan, Gill Mowat, Stewart Combe, Isobell Gardner, Kay Burnett.

Apologies from Tom Burnett, Jan Rae, Anne Law, Frank White, David Cunningham.

Resignations

Resignation notice was received from George Carstairs, Atholl Turnbull, Jon Rae.

Minutes of 2001 AGM

Minutes of the previous AGM were read and approved - proposed by Ann Turnbull and seconded by Lindsay Henderson.

There were no matters arising.

Presidents Report

Stewart welcomed new member Isobell Gardner.

He reported an uneventful year with no outside Bonspiel but he had played in the Upper Strathearn Team against the American touring curlers with Doiuglas & Rhona hosting two of the visitors.

The success of Rhona Martin's and Jackie Lockart's teams in the Olympic and World Championship was noted.

Emphasis was made of the need to honour games when chosen to play. A list of rules and etiquette would be sent out in time for the next season. The Committee is aware of the shortage of games for some players and will try to change this in thefuture.

The President thanked Alison Bruce and John Steven for organizing the dance and Fraser Bruce for the "Hour Glass Trophy" outing to Forest Hills and lastly Gill Mowat, John Steven and the rest of the committee for the continued running of the Club.

Treasurer's Report

The treasurer's report was circulated.

John remarked on the state of the accounts and said we had had a healthy season financially with the dance giving a cushion.

Secretary's report

The secretary tabled and read her report to the meeting. Copy is attached to this Minute.

Election of Office Bearers and Committee

The resignation of Alison Bruce meant there was a vacancy on the Committee. Jill MacKay was proposed by Alison and seconded by Gill.

President: Stewart Combe was unanimously re-elected.

Secretary: Gill Mowat and Rhona Johnston being willing to stand again were elected unanimously proposed by Douglas Johnston and seconded by Sue Watt.

Treasurer:	John Steven v	John Steven was re-elected.	
	Proposed:	Lindsay Henderson	
	Seconded:	Andrew Law.	

Honorary Member David Cunningham was re-elected.

Committee:	Andrew Law and Lindsay Henderson were re-elected.	
	Proposed:	Fraser Bruce
	Seconded:	Douglas Johnston.

<u>RCCC Representatives</u>

President and Secretary.

Subscriptions

To remain the same at £15 unless RCCC subscriptions increase significantly.

New Members

Isobell Gardner

Dance

A Buffet Dance will be held on 23rd November.

Golf Outing

To be organized by Lindsay Henderson at the beginning of June with a meal at the Village Inn, Muthill.

AOCB

The President reported that Dunning and Craigiehill Clubs had applied to join U.S Province and he referred to the problems created if clubs play only in certain competitions in the Province. The meeting instructed the President to oppose this application at the U.S AGM.

There was discussion concerning the composition of the two teams playing in U.S. It was decided to have two teams of equal ability rather than one strong and one weak.

The question of trophy insurance was once again discussed and it was agreed that the club could not afford the insurance premium needed to cover loss or damage to such valuable trophies. The current insurance cover would allow replacement with replicas.

The AGM closed at 9.30pm and was followed by the Prize Giving.